Tough Love

by thefoxdraws

For too long now, I have been afraid to hurt you – to say unwelcome words that would stop you in your place.  I focused on the fact that you might be heartbroken, but failed to realize that heartbreak and conflict are necessary at times in order to improve relationships.  I realize I cannot continue this way, cowering away from speaking the truth, because I want my future son to be well-behaved.  I want my son to respect his mother and father, his peers, and even those who are beneath him.  I want my son to control his temper, to seek humility over pride, and to always, always fight for the weak.  To cower away from hurting you for the greater good would be to allow my son to live without discipline and sympathy and gentleness.  I think it’s about time I started using tough love.

